ISCAR-P: Alpine Protected Area Research


ISCAR and the Network of Protected Areas (ALPARC) joined in 2006 by establishing a common working group called ISCAR-P. This board provides scientific support to research activities within ALPARC, such as the four-yearly research symposium in National Park Hohe Tauern, the journal eco.mont and the database "Mountain Pool" on research projects. Periodically ISCAR Workshops are organised with partners.


Günter Köck (chair, A-Vienna),Valérie Braun (co-chair, office), Carole Birck (ASTERS, Haute Savoie), Massimo Bocca (I-PN Mont Avic), Jean-Jacques Brun (F-Grenoble), Martin Coy (A-Innsbruck), Cédric Dentant (F-PN Écrins), Leopold Füreder (A-Innsbruck), Matej Gabrovec (SI-Ljubljana), Guido Plassmann (F-Chambéry, ALPARC office), Roland Psenner (I-Bozen), Ursula Schüpbach (CH-Berne, ISCAR office), Dominik Siegrist (CH-Rapperswil), Astrid Wallner (CH-Bern, Swiss Park Research), Herbert Wölger (NP Gesäuse)



Research project database for mountain protected areas in Europe

Journal eco.mont: Protected Mountain Areas Research and Management

Research symposium Hohe Tauern
2009 Kaprun (Austria)

Kaprun Declaration 2009

2013 Mittersill (Austria)

2017 Salzburg (Austria)

ISCAR Workshops

Workshop councils 2015
Follow-up 50Q 2014

New Highlanders 2012

Protected Areas 2011



Network of Alpine Protectd Areas (ALPARC)

Interdisciplinary Mountain Research IGF